Alex Hsain selected for prestigious Truman Scholarship

Material Science and Engineering major, Hanan Alexandra (Alex) Hsain, poses at NC State institution

Hanan Alexandra (Alex) Hsain, a junior majoring in materials science and engineering at North Carolina State University, has just been selected as one of 62 recipients of the renowned Truman Scholarship, which funds graduate studies for individuals committed to public service leadership.

Hsain, 21, of Colonial Heights, Virginia, plans to use the award to earn a PhD in electrical materials engineering and address the national security threats posed by climate change by working as a scientific advisor to policymakers.

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation was established in 1975 as a living memorial to the nation’s 33rd president and invests in the education and professional development of undergraduate Americans. In addition to up to $30,000 for graduate education, Truman Scholars are offered summer internships in Washington D.C., mentoring opportunities, and placement in public service jobs.

Hsain is NC State’s ninth Truman Scholar; its eighth recipient, Tómas Carbonell, was named in 2002.

Chancellor Randy Woodson surprised Hsain in-person with the news of her Truman Scholarship selection. “The first thing I thought was ‘thank you’ to all who have supported and loved me and for the privilege and honor of U.S. citizenship,” said Hsain, a first-generation American. “This experience has reaffirmed my commitment to ensure opportunities of freedom and the pursuit of happiness for future generations through scientific innovation. As an aspiring scientist and advocate for evidence-based decision making, I am honored to enact the ‘Think and Do’ mentality and represent NC State in the Truman community.”

Through the Fellowship Advising Office, NC State nominated five outstanding juniors with the help of its 2016-17 Truman Scholarship campus selection committee:

  • Justine Hollingshead, Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice Chancellor & Dean for Academic and Student Affairs
  • Rich Holly, Associate Dean and Executive Director for the Arts
  • Ken Johnson, Associate Director, University Scholars Program
  • Courtney Simpson, Director for the Student Support Services & Student Support Services STEM Programs, TRIO Programs
  • Carolyn Veale, Assistant Director, University Honors Program (committee chair)